Two Poems by Harry Calhoun


The one

She sleeps beside me
in this enchanted
sun-drunk afternoon,
shades drawn
her hair stylish short
but the face that of an angel

sent to save me

her hands meet
between her breasts
and her neck as if
in prayer and I can’t

sleep before I record this
but I can’t wait
to go sleep beside her
secure that I’ve found truth

in this artificial
shade-drawn
lucky

afternoon
_____________________


Vigil

You’re away on business again
and I’m sitting up on your bolster pillow
in our bedroom and working crosswords
and reading and jotting down poems

and Alex trots his 90 jet-black pounds
into the living room every few minutes.
When I go out to check on him,
he is sitting looking through the slats

of the blinds in the living room,
doggedly waiting for you to come home.
I tell him that you aren’t arriving
until tomorrow, but every few minutes

his big clapping paws slap on the hardwood
on his way to that window. Eventually,
I close the blinds. But you know if I wasn’t human
and didn’t have the distracters of puzzles

and books and poetry (and more recently brandy)
I’d be sitting out in that window with him,
keeping the vigil I have in my heart,
with the sweet expectant innocence I see

in Alex’s honest brown eyes.

3 Responses to “Two Poems by Harry Calhoun”

  1. Harry Calhoun is a widely published poet, article and essay writer. Check out his trade paperback, I knew Bukowski like you knew a rare leaf, the recently published The Black Dog and the Road and his chapbook, Something Real. He’s had recent publications in Chiron Review, Chiaroscuro, Orange Room Review, The Centrifugal Eye, Monongahela Review, Abbey and many others. He is the editor of Pig in a Poke magazine. Find out more at http://harrycalhoun.net.

  2. this “Vigil” is poetry, at its best – so very poignant. thanks for this one; it totally made my day! best, winnie

  3. Thank you, Winnie, that means a lot. Sometimes when it’s heartfelt it’s not expressed right, and sometimes the expression is OK but there is no feeling. I hope I hit this one on the nose, and from your response I guess I did. Appreciate that so much. I made someone’s day … WOW!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

