two guys speaking french at the truck stop by Justin Hyde

 
feels
like i’m at some
paris cafe
out of the
diaries of anais nin
instead of the flying j
in des moines
iowa.
 
i have
no clue
what they’re
talking about
 
but it’s got
mellifluous cadence
 
warm wax
through deep center
like the wave machine
my last girlfriend
kept in her bedroom.
 
i could easily
spend the rest of my life
slung low
in a sidewalk cafe
smoking opium laced cigarettes
 
listening to this language
 
as the sun
sank below
the arc de triomphe.
 
but the clock says
10:34pm
 
my child support payment
of 527.91
is due by
noon tomorrow
 
and my shift
locked in a pit
with the murderers
rapists
and other failed
hustlers of iowa
 
starts
in exactly
26 minutes.

7 Responses to “two guys speaking french at the truck stop by Justin Hyde”

  1. I like this one. I love the juxtaposition of language here….great job!

  2. Melanie B Says:

    ooh, Justin.;) love it

  3. child support! to some extent, we all make our own hells, don’t we, Justin?

  4. Those frogs were probably talking about turtlenecks and voting for the GOP…but a fine poem all the same.

  5. you sound like a dangerous man.

  6. Sounds like everyone has an opinion,
    instead of just hearing ya.
    *I nod my head at your poem and take a sip of my domestic beer

Leave a Reply

