The Bitch is Talking by Debbie Kirk

Lately, I’ve been struggling with my own
Masculinity

I spend time wondering if the
Excess
Or absence
Of a chromosome
Can make me think
That I’m entitled to Ben and Jerry’s at 3 in the morning
And I’m too high to drive
Don’t you love me?

People often describe me as “blunt”
Which is just a less ugly way to say bitch

Where most people avoid confrontations
At all costs
I seek them out
As I love to look into hell
And exorcise one more demon

I push the envelope
My luck
And my partner into an early
5150

And my fucking temper
Addicted to Rageamahol
Waking up
Praying for a fight

And then when I’m riding on the bus
I remember it’s only in my head

I never felt comfortable wearing a dress
Every since puberty when my whiskey breathe
Stepdad
Helped himself

Yet people also see something feminine in me
That I don’t see

My own mockingbird
Singing black and blue

And I’d prefer to just be called
Genderless
Or invisible

But the sun is sitting on my balcony now
Offering one last look

But in this real world
The sun wouldn’t hang ‘round me
And
I’m pretty sure this all started
From looking into the sun anyway….

9 Responses to “The Bitch is Talking by Debbie Kirk”

  1. Really nice meditation Debbie! I like the many layers you uncover in this poem. I love this line:
    I push the envelope/My luck/And my partner into an early/5150

  2. alan catlin Says:

    Debbie-You should meet my friend Mary, a former bartender and poet…..
    great stuff, as always alan

  3. joecloyd Says:

    I enjoyed this one for it’s eloquent bluntness… It’s straightforward and not whiney… hyperbolic and understating bitchiness! Loved the couplet about the mockingbird.

  4. And Remy de Gourmont described birds copulating as two Sapphists clasped vulva to vulva. What’s a 5150?

  5. In answer to Charles’s question, “What’s a 5150?” – here is it (from Wikipedia): “Section 5150 is a section of the California Welfare and Institutions Code (specifically, the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act or “LPS”) which allows a qualified officer or clinician to involuntarily confine a person deemed to have a mental disorder that makes them a danger to him or her self, and/or others and/or gravely disabled. A qualified officer, which includes any California peace officer, as well as any specifically designated county clinician, can request the confinement after signing a written declaration. When used as a term, 5150 (pronounced “fifty-one-fifty”) can informally refer to the person being confined or to the declaration itself.”

  6. Thanks, and I thought it was Grant Hart’s street address! Ha! cp

  7. It’s a 72 hour involuntary mental hold. Jack Micheline had one in NY and one in SF.

  8. Debbie–

    Knock out poem—

    –ove the gender play…the confluence of states of being—physically and mentally—

    Beautiful.

  9. friscokid2010, it should be 72b years ffor some. yes, micheline, a true madman & poet!

Leave a Reply

