Gerald Locklin Week

One day A.D. Winans mentioned Gerry Locklin to me like I knew him or should.  I didn’t.  After wanting to be a writer/poet in college, I took 30 plus years off to raise a family leaving the Brautigan and Bukowski world behind.  So now I am  an adolescent and admittedly a slow learner at this and still in the discovery mode when it comes to a who’s who.

I googled Locklin and started to read, contacted him and discovered besides his good poetry there are lots of things still to discover and learn–that poetry is not dead but out there waiting, like it always has been.  I discovered that at a man, almost 70 who still loves to teach is a rare treasure for his students.

I discovered I never really left the world of Brautigan and Bukowski but just stopped the clock.  But still when you do that you miss a lot.

So everyday this week  I will feature Locklin’s poetry, books and videos.  My way of celebrating the work of Gerald Locklin.  My tribute.  My way of catching up.

2 Responses to “Gerald Locklin Week”

  1. I’m looking forward!

  2. Carter Monroe Says:

    This is interesting to me for I, too, experienced the sabbatical from writing created by necessity even though my return preceded yours by roughly a decade. And, as you and I have discussed we both cut our teeth on Brautigan. Pretty much immediately upon gaining web access in the late ’90’s, I discovered Al Winans and Gerald Locklin. For me, that period was exciting because I was finding and reading this mass of poets and was totally unencumbered by much of anything surrounding the poetry world (or worlds.) I read what I liked, what I enjoyed, what I thought was quality work while in the seclusion of small town South and for all I knew at the time, these two men and many others were mainstays in The Norton Anthology. In my first interview that took place in maybe 2001/2 I was asked what I was currently reading and one of the statements I made was that, “I read everything by A. D. Winans and Gerald Locklin that I can get my hands on.”

    I’m grateful for that experience because to this day I feel that it has contributed to my lack of prejudice regarding from where art emanates. I don’t get hung up on the politics of art and am more amused than anything else by a lot of the “us -vs- them” shit that often seems to be little more than the comments made by callers to sports talk radio shows. I’m still just the same old country boy who once told the old men, “Being pretty won’t make a dog hunt, but it don’t keep him FROM hunting neither.” Thanks for giving us more Locklin.

Leave a Reply

