The Unavoidable Crime of Losing Him by Carol Lynn Grellas

I tried to give him pills, tried to make him normal again─

He was a lone swan on a broken lake, who
wouldn’t swim to an unfamiliar place
where the cattails would be too thick for his liking

I told him, become what you’re meant to be
and nothing will be impossible─

But he was never sure which was truth or delusion.
He was too soft and I watched him disappear
through clouds until all that was left was
the shadow of an image I could barely see.

I tried to shock him back to truth, but his
was a better place and nothing could penetrate
that kind of nirvana.

He shot himself under the magnolia tree
down by the lake where the deer lope free.

They say they heard him say hallelujah
and I’d like to think someone was listening,
shouted it back, just as his body became

a dispensable, but beautiful vessel.

5 Responses to “The Unavoidable Crime of Losing Him by Carol Lynn Grellas”

  1. Absolutely, positively beautiful. Carol Lynn, I am proud to know you. THis is sheer genius. Brave!

  2. tears to my eyes. what’s it’s all about. pure genius write.

  3. thank you Harry~~ you are too generous but I appreciate it very much!

    Winnie
    many thanks for your kind comments~

  4. I am always so grateful and honored when Carol Lynn Grellas brings me on one of her Sacred journeys… her writing is beautiful always.

  5. Margot Brown Says:

    Carollynn —
    this:

    ‘They say they heard him say hallelujah
    and I’d like to think someone was listening,
    shouted it back, just as his body became

    a dispensable, but beautiful vessel.’

    is beyond any words I could put together to tell you how this poem affected me.

    Margot

Leave a Reply

