Weight of your feet by Lynne Hayes

I remember the summer we would meet,
every Wednesday
at the diner in between our towns;
four stools and four leaning booths.

The building itself
seemed to lean into something,
never quite sure what.

Across from each other we sat,
feet touching
as hands stirred coffee
that never really cooled.

You always ordered eggs
sunny side down,
said the yellow orbs
burned your eyes.

I dipped my burnt toast
in the aftermath of your attack
as the waitress in the too tight dress
always undressed you
with her fuck me eyes

You never missed a bite,
held her gaze,
only laughed as my toast dipped harder
onto your ravaged plate.

You would read me poetry
from some obscure writer
that lived life harder than you.

I fed on your breath
and lived.
You loved me then.
I love you still.

I never eat breakfast midweek
and ride past that spot
often these days.

The building still leans
only now
in the opposite direction,
towards you.

12 Responses to “Weight of your feet by Lynne Hayes”

  1. i love this poem. it speaks to me. really, really, does. thanks!
    best, winnie

  2. Oh, this one is just so raw, so deep!!
    You’ve captured and expressed so many different feelings here!!
    Sometimes memories are like scars…they never go away.

    Love it!!
    ~Steph

  3. and you ask for proof
    as if the screaming train in your head
    isn’t enough to tell you

    you are there

  4. Rex Sexton Says:

    The weight of your words in “Weight of your feet” are a treasure of whispers we all carry with us, sad though they be.

  5. Very very beautiful, the words touch a raw nerve..’you loved me then, I love you still.’

  6. beautiful poem lynne. i love it!

  7. Steve Gravano Says:

    Awesome piece, right up there with the best of them.

  8. Thank you so very much everyone for reading and leaving such kind words. My first post here and it is quite an honor.

    thank you!!

  9. I love this poem! Too many great lines to single out just one.

  10. Deep sentiment I feel, floating on the yolks of heartache….

  11. Hank Beukema Says:

    Damn, SO good

  12. the word bar Says:

    Gracias fine readers!

Leave a Reply

