Two Poems by Karl Koweski

bones inscribed with the language of adoration

eyes all around me
like collapsed stars
black hole vortexes
allowing nothing to escape
until you arrived with
all the rapture of
a new mythology
the twin suns of your eyes
offers my only illumination
your eyes harbor
the solitary warmth
caressing my skin
your eyes inspire worship
if faith moves mountains
my love can shatter them
I would build pyramids
from the rubble
two hundred ton monoliths
stacked a mile high
so I might rise up
and scorch away my flesh
with the heat of our lust
leaving behind this
fused skeleton
bones inscribed with
the language of adoration
as a testament
to your divinity

_____________________

 

a shiny silver piece of you

I find your earring behind
the passenger seat
this shiny silver piece of you
dislodged the night before
this shiny silver piece of you
inside you as once
I was inside you

I find your face in my mind
framed with black sunshine
this shadow memory of you
nestled in my embrace
this shadow memory of you
will you remember
as long as I will?

3 Responses to “Two Poems by Karl Koweski”

  1. two great pieces. i really love “a shiny silver piece of you” – such a gentle, poignant verse that says so much. thanks, winnie

  2. Really gorgeous and heartbreaking…not the kind of poems one expects from the PH. But that’s a good thing. I always have known Karl has this kind of work inside him.

  3. Beautiful, as always

Leave a Reply

