The Scream Of Southeast Asia by Doug Draime

They wanted me
well shaved with shoes
shined
a few months after
the Army turned me
loose.  I’d fill out the applications and
when they asked
me questions, I knew
they were relevant
questions, but all I could
hear coming from
their mouths
were the screams
of dying, wailing and fear,
without reason
in Southeast
Asia.  I’d touch my smooth face
and look down at my
shined shoes, trying to think of
relevant answers.

3 Responses to “The Scream Of Southeast Asia by Doug Draime”

  1. This poem had already pulled me in, but these lines:

    but all I could
    hear coming from
    their mouths
    were the screams
    of dying,

    cemented it into memory.

  2. Doug Draime Says:

    Thanx much for kind words

  3. Hi, Doug. My name is Oleg Razumovsky. I’m a writer and translater from Russia. I’d like to translate some of your poems for our review Slova (Words). If you don’t mind please send your permission and foto to this adress: razumbunt@inbox.ru

Leave a Reply

