“when poetry won’t do” by Erek Smith

“when poetry won’t do”

she was the second woman
to ever tell me
that she wished
she could love me
but no matter
how hard she tried
she felt nothing

she was staying in my apartment
while her car was broken down
and slept in my bed
next to me

i tried
to feel nothing
myself
but it
never worked

so i’d wrap my arms
around her
pull her body
into mine
and hold her
hoping to fill the void
even just for a moment

because sometimes
poetry
just won’t do.

One Response to ““when poetry won’t do” by Erek Smith”

  1. I enjoyed the tone you set hear, the way you created a gulf of emptiness.

Leave a Reply

