Protests by William Taylor Jr.

Outside they’re trashing police cars
and setting things on fire,

everything is sirens and anger
beneath a burning moon.

I shut the panes against the noise of it
but leave the curtains drawn so I can see
the colors.

In good conscience we all must protest
the way of things in our own fashion;

I’ve plenty of beer and sad old music
to last me through these lightless hours.

Down in the streets I guess the cops
and their billy clubs are having their say.

I turn the record over and pour another drink
remembering the failed revolution of our kiss.

4 Responses to “Protests by William Taylor Jr.”

  1. William – I so love this poem. Speaks to truth in an sightful, personal, and emotional way. I feel inspired to keep writing poetry when I read poems like this. Thanks, Winnie

  2. I love the contrast between those billy clubs out on the street and the emotional revolution going on in counterpoint.

    Pris

  3. […] Protests by William Taylor Jr. Outside they’re trashing police cars and setting things on fire, everything is sirens and anger beneath a burning moon. I shut the panes against the noise of it but leave the curtains dr… Source: rustytruck.wordpress.com […]

  4. Great stuff, and it resonates…

Leave a Reply

