MOJAVE GREEN by F.N. Wright

I’m out here
somewhere
in the Mojave
desert
about 50 miles
from Barstow
high on peyote
spinning like a whirling
dervish
looking up at
the sky
marveling at
a spectacular
light show
the stars are putting on
for me & only me
I hear ominous
rattles shaking
vigorously
& I know it as a
Mojave Green
rattlesnake
it is dark
& I can’t see
the motherfucker
but I know he’s too
close for comfort
but the peyote
has me in it’s grips
& instead of feeling fear
the music of the
rattles makes me spin
faster
as rhe peyote paints
a goofy smile upon
my face.

2 Responses to “MOJAVE GREEN by F.N. Wright”

  1. I always told Fred he was in my top six-pack of poets.

  2. Such a good poem. We’ve lost an amazing poet. But he’s done the kindness of leaving us big shoes for us to live up to.

Leave a Reply

