Memorial Day 2012 by Bradley Mason Hamlin

I cut the grass
in the
backyard

trim the roses

and despite
my shades
and baseball cap
it’s hot
and I
start thinking
about the
bottle
of Paul Newman’s
Chardonnay
chilling
in the fridge

and the blonde
I’ll
share it with

tomorrow’s
Memorial Day
where we honor
the men & women
who have died
in service
to our country

while eating hotdogs
hamburgers
beer
and potato chips

it’s a good thing
and it’s good
to be
American

so I mow
I cut the thorns
and the rose
petals
fall.

2 Responses to “Memorial Day 2012 by Bradley Mason Hamlin”

  1. I cut the thorns / and the rose / petals /fall.

    Beautiful!

    Too many young lives lost or ruined in our quest to destroy the supposed enemies among us.

  2. Yeah, those last lines are absolutely perfect, Bradley, once again you nailed it. Hats off to another beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

