Four Poems by Bradley Mason Hamlin

Beer Martini

It’s Monday
and maybe I should be
saving the world

but here I am
with her

drinking a beer
martini

and listening
to California country
while the
great palm sways …

Nicky and I
once carved our initials
in that immortal tree
when we were
children

well …
that’s not true,
but I wish it happened;

it’s Monday

and
maybe
I
should
be

saving
the
world.

____________

 Street Cred

Street cred
yeah,

I mean,
what is it?

no one really
knows …

but,
I feel like
I lose it

if
I listen to

John Mayer.

____________

(A Marine Named) Hamlin

The first person
I saw die
in the United States Navy
was a marine
with the same last name
as my own

we were both drinking
coffee
black
and joked about
having
two branches
of the military
covered

he was a copter
pilot
and I was an assault
boat coxswain
but that day
I was working
on the aviation deck
and hooked up the cargo net
underneath
the military bird

the blades whirled
and Hamlin
rose
up
with his giant bag
of toilet paper
supplies
and secret messages

I don’t know
if it’s ironic
or just sad
but the Hawaiian sunset
looked
especially
beautiful

____________

Newspaper Boy (1976)

I once
drove
my yellow
Huffy
mountain bike

over a dead man’s legs

he didn’t make
a sound
in the daylight,
scary,
and I kept on riding …

near the railroad tracks
in Highland Park,
California

maybe
he was a tramp
that passed away
in the night

or a murder
not yet found

I didn’t know
couldn’t know

I had places to be
I was a newspaper boy
and I had to
deliver

but I never

told
that story.

June 18, 2012

4 Responses to “Four Poems by Bradley Mason Hamlin”

  1. great to read these poems. good strong images. btw – i am enjoying your chapbook!

  2. Brad – These poems surely deliver. Thank you for the sights, sounds, and emotions they express & pull out. Best, Winnie

  3. Tammy Daniel Says:

    Genuinely enjoyed.

  4. Thank you, and thanks Judy for the California Blonde shout out.

Leave a Reply

