Fish by Neil Ellman

Even when I was not quite five
I knew that water would be
the death of me
and so I made a vow:
“I shall never grow scales
or be a fish”
and then one day
when I was almost six
my mother threw me
into the public pool
and I flapped my arms
becoming fins
a fish trapped in a jar
of formaldehyde
where I stayed her little boy
proudly displayed in her étagère
for everyone to see.

One Response to “Fish by Neil Ellman”

  1. Arlin Buyert Says:

    Very well done, great images and an enjoyable read. Arlin.

Leave a Reply

