My Mother At 80: the Day She Fell In Love by Angela Consolo Mankiewic

It happened one afternoon
in melancholy heat

I was in no mood to hear
no mood to be compensated
no mood

She was waiting inside the front door,
waiting to hear my knock, waiting
to hear herself say:

“Use your key … why don’t you ever
use your key ….?”

Inside this house of unflinching indifference
I bent down to kiss her cheek and felt a tremor
through her shoulder, saw what seemed a near-blush,
a self-conscious smile and then:

“You’d think I was in love with you.”

I turned away, laid the bag of my better grapefruit
on the kitchen table, requested the afternoon’s itinerary.

“Oh,” she said, “just the market today”
and something else, something other than
You’d think I was in love with you.

I looked at the words
then looked again
before putting them away
one sound at a time
into a secret box
at the farthest corner
of the highest shelf
I could reach

POETACMANK,blogspot.com

2 Responses to “My Mother At 80: the Day She Fell In Love by Angela Consolo Mankiewic”

  1. Arlin Buyert Says:

    Very well done, great images and simply a very enjoyable read. Arlin.

  2. Thanks, Arlin —

Leave a Reply

