F.N. Wright

Just How Things Are With Me Todayfred

I walk
head down
into a fierce wind
that cuts through my soul
like well-honed straight razors

flashbacks of my father’s
barber shop & when he’d
whip my bare ass
with the strop

my belly has quit growling
& left me in hunt of food

my right hand has fallen off
ashamed of the killing it has done
not to mention the begging for
enough money for a bottle
of cheap Tokay

my past is tired of nipping
at my heels like some angry dog
& will go for the throat
before sundown

the vultures circle overhead
descending with each step
I take
knowing it will be their time
soon.

One Response to “F.N. Wright”

  1. This is why Fred was always my favorite.

Leave a Reply

