Featured Poet–Bradley Mason Hamlin

Harold Martin Silver

Wandering
round Berkeley,
California, USA
don’t get there too often
hippies give me a headache
on beer drunk,
I entered Anarchist Bookstore
hoping to find hope
or Jesus spray-painting
secret code …
lucked into a Jack Micheline
chapbook
something with Kerouac
in the title
and that little thing
that little chapter
of a life
that kooky book of words
put some new tread
on the bottom of my shoes
to get through and to
the next good thing
and sometimes
man, just sometimes
that’s more than enough.

____________

Gut Shot By Happiness

John
Lennon said,

“Whatever gets you through the night …”

All right,
but I’m concerned with the day,
the time spent
with others
outside my own tribe

hunting
and gathering paychecks
so children can eat bright round oranges
papa needs a beer
and my wife
needs a new pair of blue jeans
for the curves that kill

and maybe someday
the demons will cut me a deal
based on the amount of soul energy
I have given them during the day

but never the night

the dark hours
are for her
and for me
for movie rentals
with ice cream or red wine
for getting naked or just hanging out

maybe
we’ll even talk about
those kids tonight
and all our wild plans
for the future
because they’re
almost
too young to know
that evil

carries most of the world
in a hot bag
resting on the Devil’s shoulder

but the
laughter of the children
is a selfless sound that tortures
the shadow creatures
I see them cringing
scurrying back inside the closet
under the bed
or leaping back outside
into the bushes

gut shot by happiness
if only
you could bottle that sound.

___________

Han Solo Shot First

heal me
when all obsessing thoughts
on wickedness
keep me awake at night

when past comes calling to haunt,
torment, torture the present

when I’m stupid, blue, and foolish,
full of self and ignorance

when I’m hateful and wishing
for the destruction of reality

when the dead come today,
when evil pulls the air
and kisses the light

fall into my arms
drink with me
and I will do you
no harm.

____________

 

 Before I Mow the Summer Lawn (Wish I Were Building a Wall)

fighting
with your lover
over

where
you’re supposed
to be

or what
you’re listening
to

or
what you say
and don’t
say

and then
you visit your
neighbors

and they

piss you off
so goddamned much
with their
fucked up
personalities

you can’t
remember

why

you ever fought
with the one
you love

at all.

____________

Brown Beer & Belly Dancers

I am drinking
Brown
Beer
Right
Now
Many bottles cold
And
It’s good to
Drink
The flow
And know
It’s okay
Because
It tastes good
Good inside
And
Makes
Me feel happier
Almost
About
Being
A being
On a planet
Full of suicidal
Arabs
And far too few
Belly dancers.

 

9 Responses to “Featured Poet–Bradley Mason Hamlin”

  1. Goddamn, Scot, so nice to have this shotgun of publishing goodness, definitely gives me the real reason I’m two drinks past reason and somehow feel I’m not quite half way there.

    One thing, on “Gut Shot”, either the last page got cut by accident or editorial, either way okay, but if by mistake, the last words are (after evil):

    carries most of the world in a hot bag resting on the Devil’s shoulder   but the laughter of the children is a selfless sound that tortures the shadow creatures I see them cringing scurrying back inside the closet under the bed or leaping back outside into the bushes

    gut shot by happiness if only you could bottle that sound.

    Thanks, amigo!

    Brad

    ________________________________

  2. brad
    when i screw up, i screw up on yours…my mistake–sorry…the rest of your fine poem was on another page…i failed to scroll down..see if i got it right.
    scot

  3. Perfect. Hey, I also didn’t know I sent you that editorial response as a “comment.” That’s what I get for drinkin and typin. You can erase this, if you wanna. And thanks again.

  4. Poetry at it’s best, the best. Conversation between BMH and Scott super fun bonus!

  5. ❤ these, Bradley! I like the Han Solo one best. Thank you for being a writer.

  6. These are great pieces. I love poetry about trying to live.

  7. Diana Slovic Says:

    I like “Gut Shot By Happiness” so much, but I understand the neighbor one all too well. You capture it perfectly.

  8. Brad – Powerdul writing. Your words always have a deep effect on me. Thanks for being so right the fuck on. Best, Winnie

  9. Brad – I noticed a ‘typo’ in my prior response. Word should be “Powerful” not “Powerdul.” Sorry ’bout that. Winnie

Leave a Reply

