Times of Darkness by Arlin Buyert

–With thanks to Iris DeMent

Tell me what to say:
I lied to Mom about Roxie.
I stole my brother’s cigarettes.
I pushed the neighbor girl into the creek.
I hit my sister.
I lied to Rev. Haan about tacks on the chairs.
I cheated on the biology test.
I cut off the rooster’s leg.
I shot and killed a crow– for fun.
I told Johnny he was fat and ugly.
I didn’t run the whole mile.
Tell me what to say
before you wash my feet
in Rock Creek.

3 Responses to “Times of Darkness by Arlin Buyert”

  1. Arlin Buyert Says:

    Thank you Scot! I appreciate your support. Arlin.

  2. Arlin – You have said it. Now let your feet get washed. Great piece! Thank you. Winnie

  3. Arlin Buyert Says:

    Thank you Winnie! Your support means a lot. Arlin

    http.//www.arlinbuyert.com/

Leave a Reply

