Two Poems by Bradley Mason Hamlin

Barbarian Summer

 

June
in Sacramento
Johnny’s singing about
the “Streets of Laredo”
and unashamedly
we drink
locally brewed beer
and wine
trying not to
blast the AC
but keeping it cool
at night
when the specters
of the wee hours
come to haunt
at 4 a.m.
and I consider
the moon
as I wait for the sun
a cup of coffee
and a
Conan the Barbarian
comic book
but
right now
in the dark
I reach for my lover
and as I pull her curves
close
sorcery fades against
real magic
and all the ghosts
may howl
let them moan
like they crave sex
or scream
in unjustified horror
it’s summer
the beer is good
the blonde is good
and outside
the palm trees
whisper my oasis
they are my friends
in this valley
and Hell can wait
with my hands upon
her breasts
I am the most powerful
man alive.

____________

 

Summertime Wine

 

the
greatest
thing

about
being
married

is

she’s
had
the
passion

to
try
and
kill
me

but
never
ever
leave me.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Two Poems by Bradley Mason Hamlin”

  1. Brad – You are the most powerful man alive and your poetry is awesome…

    .

  2. Good Stuff Hamlin … both pieces.

  3. So good, Bradley, this makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

