Four Poems by Mike Meraz

I hand my landlord
The
Rent

She smiles
Her hair sticks
Out on one
Side
It’s 8am for
God’s
Sake

She is an ex
TV star
From the
90’s

Her dreams
On hold by
Children

I think
There was a
Time when
People wanted
Her
Autograph

Now I just
Want her
Grace

When I’m two
Days late
On
Rent.

_________________________

She is one of
Those
“Universal”
Girls
Who calls
Everyone
“Darling”
Or
“Honey”
She loves
Everyone
But is close
To
Nobody.

__________________________

Roll that
R
Baby

Lady
At the
Counter

With the
Jimi
Hendrix
T shirt

And the
Spanish
Eyes

And
Long
Dark
Hair

Inspiring
A
Poem

At
Last.
_________________________

I will gut
This moment
For all it’s
Worth

Squeeze it
Like an
Orange

Letting the
Citrusy
Juice
Slide down
My
Chin.

Leave a Reply

