Last Night I Dreamed About My Mother by James Babbs

last night
I dreamed about my mother
but not the way she was
at the end of her life
when she was confined to her bed
in the nursing home
the scarred tile floor
going from the front door
all the way to her room
no
this time she was young
her long dark hair falling
down past her shoulders
and she was able to walk again
moving around the room
waving her arms in the air
while I sat at the table
watching her
I was a little boy again
and she kept trying to make me laugh
most of the room
was hidden in darkness
and I wanted to touch her
but every time I reached for her
she was too far away

Leave a Reply

