Where Have The Outlaws Gone by Michael Grover

(An eulogy for Doug Draime)

These modern outlaws
They run in packs of followers
They walk a hipster walk
Talk in smooth hipster code
Don’t need anything new
You’ve got the same old shit to stand on
Don’t need to say anything
When walking on eggshells not to offend
Don’t need fresh energy
Don’t need anything when it all means no thing

Meanwhile way out west
An old Wordslinger
Puts down his last Poem
He was humble & kind
He was crazy from genius & capitalism
He just let his words do the talking
& a tree fell in the forest
I heard it, I know people heard

I am sitting here getting older
Watching all of my friends die
I might be watching myself die
I have seen the best minds of my generation
Rotting in trailer parks
What have we done to ourselves
I have seen too much

I heard it over the outlaw chatter
They wonder if their deaths will be publicized
Terrified that few people will notice
Or even care

4 Responses to “Where Have The Outlaws Gone by Michael Grover”

  1. Doug Draime Says:

    Hi Scott,

    Thanks for sending the eulogy for Doug that Michael Grover wrote. I am making a collection of all the poems and condolences that are coming my way. Here’s a pic I took of Doug a few years ago. I thought he made a dashing outlaw poet!

    -Best Carol

  2. Aaron Draime Says:

    What a beautifully written and fitting Eulogy for my Pops. Thank you!

    Aaron

  3. One of the best poems I’ve read in a while.

  4. great poem for a great poet. wish I’d written to Doug more often. oh, well. RIP, bro.

Leave a Reply

