Rodney Says by John Dorsey

Rodney Says

the one thing he can’t stand are niggers
that the only colors we should be concerned about are-

RED

WHITE

&

BLUE

we grew up a mile apart
with the same dirt
under our fingernails

he tells me about his heart attack

we have known each other
since we were ten years old
& looking at him now
there is a civil war raging
inside my chest.

6 Responses to “Rodney Says by John Dorsey”

  1. priscampbell Says:

    Oh wow, John, so good. So sad. So true.

  2. Great piece John. Right up there with the postcard piece.

  3. John Dorsey Says:

    Thank you, guys, heard there was a bit of negative reaction to it online, but anyone who knows me knows what I meant with this piece, this was something that was said to me by someone I once thought of as a friend, it made me sad, made me sick to my stomach, which so many things do right now.

  4. Last I knew, your name was John, not Rodney.

    “It is difficult to get the news from poems, yet men die miserably every day for lack of what is found there.” William Carlos Williams

    “How high’s the water, Mama?” “Five feet high and risin’…” Johnny Cash

  5. John Dorsey Says:

    Amen, brother. Thanks.

  6. Your message was clear and important. Thank you. Understating the reaction to Rodney shows the speaker is not a hot head, but someone who sees beyond his own white privilege and understands the toll hate is taking on our country.

Leave a Reply

