On Eleventh Avenue by D. A. Pratt

On Eleventh Avenue …

between Rose Street
and Broad Street
not far from the old
Army and Navy Store
there was a place
where I finally found
a copy of Fanny Hill …
where I bought
my first copy
of Lady Chatterley’s Lover
(the edition that matched
the book by John Cleland) …
where I bought
my first copy
of Tropic of Cancer
(the Grove Press paperback
with the blue cover) …
where I also bought
my first issue
of a monthly magazine
called Playboy
(when it mattered – I’m not kidding!)
where I bought
my first issue
of Evergreen Review …
I bought
a lot of other stuff
there too … everything
contributed to what I
am today … it was
a small store
that sold magazines
and pocketbook paperbacks
and probably tobacco …

The place is gone now
and so is the old
Army and Navy Store …
nothing much has replaced
either of them … but
I think of the place every time
I drive along Eleventh Avenue …
in either direction
since it’s no longer a one-way street
in downtown Regina …

Leave a Reply

