Two Poems by Aurelia Lorca

 

Not So Still Life

I

If only we pastelled as harmonious
As the etching on our abode.
These cramped quarters:
You call this a bowl?
An oversized latte cup, maybe.

Peach and her lopsided breast
loll on my head like a tumor,
yet she snits
that my fractious stem is poking
nether regions only her husband
should have access to.
Nether regions, indeed. (Where’s raspberry when I need him?)
We’re FRUIT dammit!
Rembrandt, paint this:
PPPPHHHHHTTTTTHHHHBBBBBTTTT!!

II

Naked in un-decorous lighting
under fluorescent hum,
I expose my crooked breast
and bruised marker
where my skin cuts yellow.

O me. Poor me. Poor Peach.

Paint me with summer orchards,
the balm of buzzing bees,
gingham checked linen,
wicker.
Let me burlesque for you
from baskets ripe with color
where I fan-dance
one swell
at a time,
creating the illusion
of juicy perfection.

____________

 

Pet A Kitty

 

When my friend,
the greatest poet I know,
came to San Francisco
she tried to find work-
But San Francisco being
San Francisco, and poets
being poets, it was not easy.

We decided instead that we
would prostitute my cat, Figaro,
who at eighteen years old,
deaf, and eager for affection,
had recently won a cutest pet
contest.

It was simple- We’d
advertise to the lonely
on CraigsList, and attach
a little money pouch to his collar.
We would pimp him out,
but never leave him alone
with any customers.

“I’m putting your furry butt
to work!” my friend said to Figaro,
who didn’t hear, but just purred
and purred and purred.

Unfortunately, like any good poet,
Figaro was too much of a slut
to collect money,
and my friend,
the greatest poet I know,
left San Francisco
for a city more affordable.

____________

Bio:  Aurelia Lorca can be found in the spaces between the cante jondo and the blues talking with ghosts.  

One Response to “Two Poems by Aurelia Lorca”

  1. Rhoda Morgenstern Says:

    long live Figaro! He was a wonderful cat.

Leave a comment