Self-Infliction by Dan Provost

 
Events you thought inconsequential…
Lightly touching my hip in the
Used book store or rubbing the
Small of back at the amusement park…
 
Probably whisked through your oblivion,
 
Meant the world to me…
 
But that was our walk through events for all time…
Never to happen again.
 
The smallest gestures, you threw away–while the
Receiver of the cherished gifts…
 
Suffered in the early morning hours
When cries are heard by one…
 
I have never spent more conscious days in my life when I was with you…
 
Every movement of step a beautiful journey…
 
A surprise—you not knowing;
                     I quietly exhilarated…
 
At every glance or stare…
 
Disregarded?  Probably, in your reality of real world milieu…
 
They were bibles to me…to take out, studied and worshipped
 
Then put away until another 4 AM epiphany starts me pacing in
My silent gallows…
 
Only the beating of the heart, or the sobbing of the one crow
Who sits alone on top of the birdbath…
 
Are heard while the world is still asleep….
 
My grief is silent…the soul is saddened.
 
I may never be home.

4 Responses to “Self-Infliction by Dan Provost”

  1. Dan Provost has been published in many places. He has seven chapbooks out and feels old. E-Mail him at dprovost@hotmail.com

  2. Sweet stuff Dan…that’s everyday sadness well captured.

  3. John Dorsey Says:

    Dan is wonderful as always…

  4. I really love this one my friend. Well penned and definitely touched with sadness and tenderness.

Leave a comment