Thrown Away by Ian Copestick

 

I remember when I was younger
Much younger, just left school
In fact. I was in college, I was
Supposed to be studying to be
An engineer. I had no interest at all
In engineering. The only thing about
College that was fun was going
To the pub at lunchtime.
Eventually they threw me out
For turning up two hours late
For afternoon classes, so drunk
That I could hardly stand.
Anyway, I remember the main
Lecturer as he kicked me out
Of there, giving me a real bloody
Lecture. He looked down at my
File, open on his desk and told
Me how I had thrown away
Every opportunity I had ever
Had. I think he meant the
Scholarship to a posh private
School that I was given at 11.
I hated it and left after a year.
” Every chance you’ve been
Given, you just throw them all
Away. ”
Perhaps that’s why now, 30
Years later, I find myself so
Often rooting through the
Rubbish of life.
I’m trying to work out just what
It was I threw away and seeing
If I can find it again.

2 Responses to “Thrown Away by Ian Copestick”

  1. Gail Fischer Horton Says:

    Provocative and powerful

  2. JUDGE SANTIAGO BURDON Says:

    Reading through your garbage noticing you have found the value in recycling. Do not forget to look under your ego. I have discovered valuable items I allowed it to discard.
    An honest collection of life lessons once written off with a pen filled with unlearned ink.

Leave a comment